Skip to content

Perception

by on July 16, 2013

 

 

It was a short trip to the dairy store for milk. I pulled into the familiar parking lot, and saw an empty space between two parked cars. I pulled my van into the spot and gently applied the brakes to stop.

To my utter amazement and horror the van would not stop. The building loomed directly ahead. I knew that in only seconds there would be a destructive impact. I pushed the brake pedal harder than ever and still could not stop the vehicle. These few seconds seemed like an hour. I had no idea what was happening.

As it turned out, the cars on each side of me decided to back up at exactly the same time and at exactly the same rate of speed. (What is the probability of that happening?) In my peripheral vision I saw them each move backwards and it felt like I was continuing to move forward when, in fact, my van was at a complete stop. The brakes had functioned perfectly. I was safe.

In those anxious moments my sense of perception was completely altered. The rules of natural life that had served me well for so long, failed me then. My senses could not process the events as they were experienced.

Spiritual life can be just like that. Events can arise that have no immediate explanation. It is important, in those times, that we do not decide that all rules have changed. It is important that we honor the truth that we have learned in more predictable times. God will eventually reveal the truth to us if we are faithful and if we do not jump to unwarranted conclusions.

Life can be very confusing but confusion is not the time to make hasty decisions. Confusion is only temporary until God shows the way again.

 

God’s Word is Truth.

God’s Word is the plumb line.

God’s Word is the standard against which all events and life are measured.

 

If life presents you with a confusing perception that does not match God’s Word, hold still. It may be the time to wait on the Lord for more wisdom and direction. Do not allow yourself to be distressed by troubling events.

 

God is still there.

He is still in control.

Eternity is more real than time.

Live for eternity where all will be well and all perceptions accurate.

 

For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face:

Now I know in part; but

Then shall I know even as also I am known.

I Corinthians 13:12

Comments are closed.