Skip to content

You and Your Body

by on January 6, 2014

Me and My Body

My body is not in charge of me. I am in charge of me. The real me is in charge of me. I am not a bundle of SR bonds waiting to be stimulated. I am a complete, total human male capable of good and ill. The decisions are mine. My body can bless, and my body can harm. Those are decisions that I make. Every day. Every moment of every day.

God made me a man. A human man. That is what He wants me to be. If I obey Him, that is what I will be. He gave me a body. He gave me a soul: a mind, a will, and emotions. I am a spirit. Spirit is the eternal part of me. Spirit is the part of me that communes with God. Spirit is the part of me that communes with the other parts of me. Spirit is what directs my will and my mind and my emotions and hence, my body and my behaviors. God’s Spirit speaks to my spirit and then my spirit relates to the rest of me.

The question, of course, is what or who controls my spirit?

Life has two options. Either God’s Holy Spirit will control me or my environment will control me. My internal and external environment will control me or else the Holy Spirit will control me.

Lust is not necessary. Lust is allowing the body and the senses to control the person. Lust controls the mind to please the body. It could be lust for anything.

I can see beauty and not lust. Why could I not? Beauty is from God. Lust is from a wicked heart. I can have desire. Desire is from God. Desire for what is right is not lust. I can have longings and not lust. Longings for what is right are from God.

Why is this so difficult to understand? Why is this so difficult to do? It is not really so difficult. It is the only option for a Christian man. A Christian man is controlled by God’s Holy Spirit. That is the real me. The real me is a Holy Spirit controlled, obedient, confident, compassionate, human being.

The new covenant promises that God’s Holy Spirit lives in and controls His children.

Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal bodies,

To make you obey their passions.

Do not yield your members to sin as instruments of wickedness, but

Yield yourselves to God as men who have been brought from death to life, and

Yield your members to God as instruments of righteousness.

For sin will have no dominion over you,

Since you are not under law but under grace.

Romans 6:12-14

I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

I Corinthians 9:27

 

This story is told of Augustine. After he became a believer, his lifestyle totally changed. On one occasion he was pursued by a girl with whom he had been immoral.

As he ran away from her she called out to him, “Augustine, Augustine, it is I.”

He responded to her, “Yes – but it is no longer I.”

 

You can be tempted. I can be tempted. Temptation is real. But God provides a way to withstand every temptation that comes our way.

Let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.

No temptation has overtaken you except such as is common to man; but

God is faithful,

God will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but

With the temptation,

God will also make the way of escape, that

You may be able to bear it.

I Corinthians 10:12-13

 

Who or what is controlling your life? That is the question.

God is waiting to bring blessing to your life.

His Holy Spirit wants to control and guide you.

Will you accept that control? Today?

 

Comments are closed.