Skip to content

HOPE For The Future

by on September 6, 2014

 

The prophets all had the same basic message.
1. They spoke God’s judgments to the sins of their times.
2. They spoke God’s warnings of coming tribulation at the time of the end.
3. They spoke HOPE for a coming, eternal Kingdom of God on this earth.

Jesus spoke of this coming Kingdom in the Lord’s prayer – Thy Kingdom Come.

Daniel encapsulated this hope in 2:44 “And in the days of these kings the God of heaven will set up a kingdom which shall never be destroyed; and the kingdom shall not be left to other people; it shall break in pieces and consume all these kingdoms, and it shall stand forever.

Jeremiah was no different. He spoke out against the sins of his people. He warned them of impending seventy years of captivity. He also prophesied the coming Kingdom of God when God’s Word would be written in their hearts and God’s Spirit would indwell His people. He spoke God’s promise that You shall be my people and I will be your God.”“

This was God’s plan from the beginning. He wanted a people for Himself and He wanted them to serve Him from their hearts. From the opening of Genesis to the close of Revelation, God’s plan has been the same – His Kingdom would be filled with people who would serve Him from the heart and He would be their God.

Meanwhile, however, the prophets continued to call the people to a life of holiness in the midst of sin. Jeremiah 2:13 – For My people have committed two evils; they have forsaken Me, the Fountain of living waters, to hew out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water.

For this message, the prophets paid a high price. Jeremiah was threatened with death. He was falsely accused. He was placed in stocks and thrown into a pit. The prophets were real, live people. They were a sturdy sort. They endured persecution for their love of God and His message. Part of that message was HOPE for the future.

Jeremiah 29:11 has become a favorite verse of many people.
10 For thus says the LORD: After seventy years are completed at Babylon,
I will visit you and perform My good word toward you,
and cause you to return to this place.
11 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD,
Thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a HOPE.
12 Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.
13 And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.
14 I will be found by you, says the LORD, and
I will bring you back from your captivity;
I will gather you from all the nations and from all the places where
I have driven you, says the LORD, and
I will bring you to the place from which I caused you to be carried away captive.

What is the message for us today? It is the same message.
1. There will be judgment for the sins of today.
2. Difficult times are coming.
3. There is a bright HOPE for the future.

The Church age is the age of the Holy Spirit as God promised in Jeremiah 31.

In this age we anticipate the coming Kingdom of total righteousness in the absence of sin. We live the values of the Kingdom by the power of the Holy Spirit as we wait for the Savior from Heaven to set up His Kingdom.

31 “Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when
I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah-
32 “not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that
I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt,
My covenant which they broke, though I was a husband to them, says the LORD.
33 “But this is the covenant that
I will make with the house of Israel after those days, says the LORD:
I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and
I will be their God, and they shall be My people.

This is our HOPE for the future.

Comments are closed.