Skip to content

The Plans of God

by on January 20, 2015

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD.
Jeremiah 29:11
“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.”
Isaiah 55:8

This is our experience of the last several days. As Frank and I drove home from visiting our son Mark and his family on Saturday evening January 17, we were hit from the left by a car which did not stop at the intersection of Elizabethtown Road and Meadow Valley Road. We had not anticipated the impact. After sliding down the road, we came to a halt on a road bank. I was able to use my cell phone to call Mark and tell him of our plight. He arrived quickly, having only about 2 miles to travel from his home.

We were unable to open either of our doors to exit the vehicle. Soon some folks were there and opened the back passenger door of the 2006 Dodge Minivan and unbelted us. They lowered my seat on the passenger side and pulled me out over the seat back. Frank also came out the same way. We were both transported to Lancaster General hospital in separate ambulances on boards and in neck braces. We were both conscious and there was no blood! But we did answer many questions. “What day is this? Who is the President? Is 2 less than 4?”

After exams and x-rays, he was diagnosed with a fractured left pelvis and a fractured sternum. Both of us were in a great deal of physical pain, but his was much more severe, for he took the blunt of the hit at his door. I was discharged and arrived home early Sunday morning. Frank was admitted for observation and further tests. I wanted to stay with him, but realized I could not manage that.

Only yesterday did they manage Frank’s pain level so he could sit up with the physical and occupational therapists. He sat on a chair for more than an hour. I was able to visit him yesterday when he was sitting up. Our family have been very helpful and supportive in visiting Frank and making sure someone was here for me. As I write this, I am very sore and still on pain medicine. If I take my time, I can change positions and am able to slowly walk about.

We do bless you all for prayers sent our way. We were about to begin the third week of term three at Sharon Mennonite Bible School on Monday. Someone else will teach Frank’s class. We are so thankful for our family who has reached out to us and others as well. We are sorry for this unexpected change in plans, but God allowed this turn in the road. We want to glorify Him in this situation.

–Lois Reed

If you would like to visit with either Frank or Lois, please check with Mark first. Thanks for your understanding.

Comments are closed.