Skip to content

Follow Me

by on April 6, 2015

Follow Me as I Follow Christ

Was the Apostle Paul an impossible egotist or was he a confident follower of Jesus Christ? How could he say, Follow me as I follow Christ?

Philippians 3:17 Brethren, be followers together of me, and mark them which walk so as ye have us for an ensample.

Philippians 4:9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

I Corinthians 4:15 For though ye have ten thousand instructors in Christ, yet have ye not many fathers: for in Christ Jesus I have begotten you through the gospel.
16 Wherefore I beseech you, be ye followers of me.

I Corinthians 10:33 Even as I please all men in all things, not seeking mine own profit, but the profit of many, that they may be saved.

I Corinthians 11:1 Be ye followers of me, even as I also am of Christ.

Why would Paul say, Be ye followers of me as far as I follow Christ? The reason is because people need examples. We not only need teaching, we also need real life persons who live out the Scriptures so we can see how to walk and how to live the Christian life.

We need to be examples of Godliness, purity, integrity, and forgiveness. We need to be examples of all elements of the Christian life.

Can you tell people to follow you as you follow Christ? That is not a self-protective statement. That is not a hedge. That is a statement of a believer who is led by the Holy Spirit and is not afraid to live the truth every moment of every day.

Are you an example for people to follow? Are you willing for people to see and know you in every and all situations? Do you have areas of life that are hidden from view? Is you life above scrutiny? Do you act in love and integrity every moment of every day?

Do you love what God loves? Do you hate what God hates? What makes you angry? Do you act with the purpose of Jesus at all times? Are you willing to speak for Jesus in all situations? Are you willing to stand alone with and for God? Are you willing to be obedient to the Holy Spirit?

I Timothy 4:12 Let no man despise thy youth; but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity.

James 3:13 Who is a wise man and endued with knowledge among you? let him show out of a good conversation his works with meekness of wisdom.

Many young people are leaving the faith because they do not have trusted, obedient role models. Will you be one upon whom they can depend? Will you be one who others can look up to? Will you be one who can say, follow me because I am following Christ?

People hear the words of the Scripture. If they are to take those words seriously they need to see someone live out those truths.

Jesus came to earth so we could see a life lived for God. He came to die, but He also came to live, so we could see how to live. He, as a human being, tempted in all points as we are, modeled the God life. As followers of Jesus, we need to model the life that God expects us to live.

Are you doing that? That is what we need. In many cases we have enough knowledge, information, and ability to teach the truth. What we need is real live Godly men and women who are filled with the Holy Spirit who will live the life so people can see God in us.

Not perfect? No problem! God knows that. That will keep you humble. Live the life today.

Comments are closed.