Skip to content

Lust – Part II

by on July 31, 2015

Men Without Chests

It is so important that a man has a chest –
-a chest in which God has placed his heart –
-a heart that is turned completely to God the Creator.

Scripture teaches this concept:
Be controlled by the Holy Spirit – Romans 8:16
Be transformed by the renewing of your mind – Romans 12:1-2
“Keep your heart with all diligence…” – Proverbs 4:23
“I discipline my body…” – I Corinthians 9:27

“I discipline my body…” Apparently “I” and “my body” are not the same thing. “I” is the heart kept with all diligence . “My body” is the brain and belly and the basic drives and lusts that must be disciplined by another agency – the heart. So then:

My Spirit – is indwelt by the Holy Spirit
My Mind – the Holy Spirit renews my mind
My Heart – is kept with all diligence
My Body – is disciplined by my renewed mind and dedicated heart

So, what does this have to do with lust? Everything. We already know everything we need to know. We know which behaviors are right and which are wrong. So, why do we do wrong? Because we are controlled by the lusts instead of by the diligent heart that is controlled by God. As Lewis says, Without the aid of trained emotions the brain is powerless against lust. That is why Proverbs says, “Keep your heart with all diligence for out of it are the issues of life.”
The brain cannot control the belly. The heart has to do that. The heart dedicated to and controlled by the Holy Spirit of God has to do that. The heart that will not offend its God. A heart totally committed to Him.

Education and teaching will alert the mind but will not empower the will and move the heart. All of our energies of brain and belly must be processed through the heart. When we do that, we become men of valor who keep truth and love together in how we live life.

So, a man without a chest is a man without a heart. A man who lives out of the impulses of his brain or his belly is a man without a chest. Those men are not really men. They are males who are living out of the carnality of male impulses. They are males who can destroy themselves and other people with their brains and/or their bellies.

To live from the brain or the belly is to make the wrong choices. It is to reject the leading of the Spirit of God. It is to reject the power of God. It is to choose death instead of life. It is to choose the flesh instead of the Spirit. It is to use people instead of loving them.

What can be done?
What can we do?
What can you do?

Comments are closed.