Skip to content

A Good Leader

by on August 10, 2016

“A Good Leader”

No matter how much I practiced, the notes just would not come out. I could get the notes when I went slowly enough by myself but in the orchestra practice I missed them every time. Then came county band with the guest conductor.

The dreaded piece of music. The dreaded measures. Fear – knowing I would be embarrassed. But, no! I played right through the measures perfectly. Surprised, or shocked would be a better word. How did it happen? It was unreal. Delightful, really. A sense of fulfillment and knowing that I was able to be a useful part of the experience. Relaxed and amazed, the concert proceeded.

A friend is an accomplished musician (also a plain Anabaptist). I told him my story and asked him how it could happen. The difference was the conductor, he said. A good leader helps you to anticipate the movements although you do not even know it is happening. I will not forget the experience nor will forget his explanation.

 

Are there good leaders who can help people anticipate the movements and bless them even beyond their perceived ability? Am I a good leader? Can people do well under my guidance? What about church leaders? Are people rising to their God-given capacity by the direction of good leaders? They should. That is God’s plan.

And speaking of God – He is our Leader. We are His followers. We play our notes but Jesus, the Conductor, the Good Leader anticipates the movements for us. He knows the notes and He knows our abilities. He prepares us for the next movements. His Holy Spirit lives in us and the music is His. We are His instruments. We are amazed by what we can do under His direction. We are delighted and amazed by what He does through us.

And do not present your members as instruments of unrighteousness to sin,
But present yourselves to God as being alive from the dead,
And your members as instruments of righteousness to God.

Romans 6:13

Comments are closed.