Skip to content

Church Politics

by on October 13, 2017

Letter from Nicodemus to Yeshua

Yeshua,

One side of my conscience tells me to leave well enough alone while the other side won’t allow me any peace until I’ve given you my perspective. The only thing I know for certain is you have created quite a stir in Jerusalem.

Yeshua, I really wonder if you realize the harm you’ve caused by your provocative actions of late. I know you felt obligated to upset the applecart, but do you really think your approach is effective? You know that inwardly I agree with everything you teach. You also know, based on the conversation we had a couple years ago, that I honestly believe you are a true Rabbi. No one can accomplish the signs and miracles you have accomplished unless YHVH is with him. I haven’t changed my opinion. I know much of what you say is true, but your approach is too abrasive. Quite simply, Yeshua, you are causing more harm to your own message than good; not to mention the confusion you’re causing in our culture.

I would be the first to admit, Yeshua that we have many, many things we need to change. I would also admit that I think the merchandising at the temple around Passover has gotten a little out of hand lately. However, I (and a small group of concerned council members) have been taking steps to change this. We are being effective, little by little. I even noticed marked improvement this year. Of course, you wouldn’t have noticed since you didn’t take much time to look around when you arrived. You seemed like you already had your mind made up when you walked through the temple gate.

Yeshuah, you have given yourself a bad name. Solomon said we should desire a good name yet it seems like you’re insistent upon ruining your own reputation in an attempt to expose our Jewish system as hypocrisy. There is no such thing as a perfect religion. Surely you would know that, Yeshua, with all the travelling you’ve done. We don’t even claim to be perfect but we’re doing the best we know how. Do you not believe that we spend time reading and studying the Torah in an attempt to make sure all we’ve been taught is accurate and preserved in its purest fashion? You seem intoxicated by change for the sake of change. Yeshua, as I’ve stated to you before, I don’t believe change is bad but we must move carefully. We have rabbis and elders who have lived this way all their life. Are you saying they’re wrong?

Another thing you may have missed seeing during your episode yesterday was the children. Yeshua, they were thoroughly confused. I personally saw one group of boys who had just come through the Bar Mitzvah ceremony within the last week watching. Soon afterwards I overheard them talking. They understand the disrespect you blatantly showed toward (ultimately) YHVH, but also our temple, our customs, the feast, the priests. Yeshua, what if every young Jewish male decides to take matters in his own hands from now on? Can you imagine the confusion and chaos that will result? We have these things in place for the purpose of maintaining order. You should know as well as anyone that YHVH Himself set these things in order when He spoke it to our brother Moshe. Yeshua, why do you think you should single-handedly lead a revolt against such long established customs? Also, why do you seem to gravitate to the largest gathering of people to make your scenes? Do you need a crowd’s attention in order to feel as though you’re making your point, and what’s the point in randomly misquoting the Torah? Yeshua, examine your heart, are you sure it’s pure?

Also, do you realize that many, many people had to leave the temple after your tirade yesterday? There were people who had travelled many days to reach Jerusalem to celebrate Passover, but when they finally came to the court of merchandising they found no lambs, no doves and no grain. Yeshua, they couldn’t bring their own animals for the sacrifices; they intended to purchase a sacrifice here. You, Yeshua, have robbed them of the opportunity to obey YHVH’s direct command. Quite simply, you have caused them offense. You have caused them to sin. Do you really believe you’re being effective? Must you always use such disrespectful behavior to make your point? Do you realize that it will be impossible to restore order in the temple in time to offer the sacrifices this year?

Another thing I’ve never mentioned is your tendency toward disrespecting the Shabbat. After yesterday’s episode I heard many people talking about your many episodes of healing, travelling and even harvesting grain on the Shabbat. Do you honestly believe we have been doing it wrong all these centuries?

Yeshua, I’m pleading with you. Please reconsider your approach. Not only are you causing confusion and contention among the common Jews, you’re also creating a nightmare for the elders and priests. Give us some time, Yeshua, I can see positive changes being made. We each need to exercise patience with one another. I sit on the Sanhedrin council, trust me, Yeshua, good things are happening. No, they’re not happening rapid enough to suit your desires (or even mine for that matter), but good things are happening, nonetheless!

I care for you, Yeshua. I respect you. I know that much of what you say to and about us is true. I also know that if you continue on the path you’ve chosen you will find yourself on the unfortunate end of an execution stick. Then what, Yeshua? Wouldn’t it make more sense to calm down a little and work within the system guidelines to reveal truth? Don’t you think that will be more productive in the end? Doesn’t it seem more consistent with the nature of YHVH to move slowly, cautiously, intentionally rather than impulsively and recklessly?

Yeshua, I’ve only written this because I care. I want to see change as bad as you do. I DO see change and I thank YHVH for it! Please consider these things.

May YHVH bless you and keep you, Yeshua.

Nicodemus

(Source unknown)

From → Church History

Comments are closed.